Every year at the end of the NFL season, awards are given out to the best players in the sport. A group of select individuals votes on the winner of each award, which most of us are not apart of. So what do we do instead? We make predictions. So that’s what we’re going to do.


Finalists: Patrick Mahomes, Trevor Lawrence, Josh Allen

My pick: Trevor Lawrence

If I was a gambling man, which I am, Trevor Lawrence has +1700 odds to win MVP. Now that is not the basis of my argument. What is though is the fact that Lawrence is going into his second season (Urban Meyer year doesn’t exist) under Doug Pederson. Returning from his 1 year suspension (gambling) is Calvin Ridley, who is going to instantly become the WR1 in this offense. Combine that with the fact that the AFC South is going to start 3 rookie quarterbacks, and those 3 other teams lack talent in general, it should be a cake walk for this Jaguars team. Plus, the media doesn’t like to pick the actual most valuable player, it’s usually just a “most trendy name right now but also a really good football player award”. Trevor Lawrence will be just that.

Offensive Player of the Year

Finalists: Garrett Wilson, Justin Jefferson, Tyreek Hill

My pick: Garrett Wilson

In his rookie season, Wilson had a revolving door of below average (or even terrible) QBs throwing him the ball, with Zach Wilson, Mike White and Joe Flacco sharing starting duties throughout the season. Aaron Rodgers is 10x whatever those guys are capable of, even if you consider him slighty “washed”. Posting 83 receptions for 1103 yards and 4 touchdowns, Garrett Wilson is primed for a huge breakout with the 4x MVP giving consistency at the quarterback position.

Defensive Player of the Year

Finalists: Micah Parsons, TJ Watt, Sauce Gardner

My pick: Micah Parsons

Over the first 2 seasons of his career, Parsons has accumulated 26.5 sacks. That’s a lot, for any player, especially in his first 2 years in the league. But what is different in the case of Micah Parsons is he wasn’t focusing full-time on being a pass rusher. This offseason it was announced he would be making the permanent switch to being an edge rusher. Which will not only help his future contract extension, but will help his production. I expect Micah Parsons to eclipse 20+ sacks and break the sack record.

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Finalists: Bryce Young, CJ Stroud, Bijan Robinson

My pick: Bryce Young

The 2023 1st overall pick has a lot of expectations coming into the league. But there is no one better fit for this situation than Bryce Young. Concerns over his size will be quickly put to rest as Young puts the league on notice as a rookie. He is walking into a situation in Carolina who has been desperate for a starting caliber QB play ever since Cam Newton started to struggle later in his career. With solid weapons and a great head coach, Bryce Young has all he needs to succeed in year 1 and beyond.

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Finalists: Will Anderson, Jalen Carter, Jack Campbell

My pick: Jalen Carter

In what earth should it ever be okay to let a man as talented as Jalen Carter fall to the Eagles all the way at the 9th pick? Carter is going to be an instant starter on an Eagles team that is got a good chance to go back to the Super Bowl. If I were an opposing quarterback, I would be terrified. Jalen Carter was the consensus best player in the draft, and due to some pre-draft shenanigans and some character concerns, he fell. Considering the NFL allows some of the worst possible things to slide under the rug, I’m not sure why Carter’s issues caused him to fall. But it did, and he is going to be a perennial pro bowler for years to come.

Coach of the Year

Finalists: Doug Pederson, Frank Reich, Dan Campbell

My pick: Dan Campbell

Although I expect quite a lot of success from all 3 of these coaches in this upcoming season, I try to see through the eyes of the voter. One thing they look for is a story, and Dan Campbell would have the best story. Leading the Detroit Lions to any sort of success is like a Super Bowl to that city, let alone winning a division title. Lions should quite easily run through their division, and they should run through a lot of their schedule fairly easy. For the first time in a very long time (maybe the first time ever), Detroit is good, and they are going to be a Super Bowl contender and a force to be reckoned with. The NFC better watch out.

Comeback Player of the Year

Finalists: Damar Hamlin

Winner: Damar Hamlin

It should be unanimous and it’s not up for debate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *